Prepositionnnnns!!

I don’t know why, but lately my OCD has been getting worse and worse. I count things a lot more, I eat with a lot more difficulty (because I’m counting and making sure my bites are an even number on both sides of my mouth), and I demand a lot more symmetry in general. But the main thing I’m noticing lately is my absolute need to avoid ending sentences with prepositions. (See “My Grammatical Quirks” at the top of the page to see what it is about which I’m writing… see?? Couldn’t end the sentence with “about” because “about” is a preposition!) Every time someone ends a sentence with a preposition, my brain automatically starts screaming the grammatically correct sentence over and over and I can’t avoid it. Same with who/whom; every time someone uses the wrong one, I mentally scream “WHOM! WHOOOM!!! With WHOM are you going, not Who are you going with!!”

Of course, I realise that saying these things out loud would mark me as a pedantic sociopath. So I keep it to myself and suffer gramatically induced mini-comas that quite often lead to me being snapped out of it by the offending party. So if I’m ever having a conversation with you, and start staring into the middle ground, you can be pretty sure that you’ve just ended a sentence with a preposition. It’s ok. A firm smack to the side of the head should get me going again.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

    Reply
  2. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

    Reply
  3. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

